We are now located at 10270 Hwy 12 along the beautiful Clearwater River. We are pleased to be the new owners of a truly unique piece of history that will showcase what we do best! Giving ancient timbers new life.
The Tall Pine Cabin was built around the year 1900. The cabin is a two story building approximately twenty feet by thirty feet. It later had a lean to kitchen, wood shed and porches added to it. Nearly all the materials in the cabin except for the floors and windows were native materials, most likely cut a few yards from the original site. Big Tamarack log -mud sills served as the foundation and supported floor joist of hewed timbers about eight inches square. The upstairs floor was supported by square timbers thirty foot long running lengthwise of the building.
Shakes made of native cedar nailed on round pole purloins made a weather proof roof. Some of these shakes were eight to ten inches wide and three foot long. The cabin was moved to its present location in the mid 1960 by Samuel F. Swayne to preserve an example of the axemanship, sturdiness, and resourcefulness of the early pioneers who went out in the the primitive wilderness and, with simple tools built comfortable homes.
The building was dismembered one log at a time from its original location on Upper Fords Creek near Weippe, Idaho and reassembled at the present site.
According to George Harlan who was born in the cabin in 1907, the sawed lumber in the old cabin was cut by the Bob Cook’s sawmill and hauled to the site by team and wagon. Some boards were nearly twenty inches wide and a sample can be seen on the south wall of the lean to.
(Excerpt of the history of the cabin taken from the book Tales of the Clearwater by Samuel F. Swayne)